Personal Injury Laws

Washington State Personal Injury Laws

Statute of Limitations on Injury Cases in Washington State

In Washington, as in the case of other states there is a time limit on when you are legally able to file a claim against another party that caused your injury. This is called a statute of limitations. If you do not file your case within the time limit, you may be not be able to recover compensation for your injuries.

The statute of limitations in Washington State is 3 years from the date of your accident or injury. It is critical to file your case within the 3 year time limit, otherwise your case will almost certainly be disallowed.

Comparative Fault Rules in Washington

Washington state is a “pure comparative negligence” state, which means that whatever amount you recover will be reduced by the percentage of fault attributed to you.

So, if you recover $100,000, and you are determined to be 30% at fault, your settlement would be reduced to $70,000.

No Damage Limits in Washington Personal Injury Cases

Some states limit the amount of compensation you can be awarded for certain types of injuries, but there are no limits under Washington state laws. Washington courts have held that personal injury damage limits are unconstitutional.

Liability of Government Workers and Entities in Washington State

Special rules and limitations apply to personal injury cases filed against government entities and employees. You must file a formal notice of claim with the state or municipality involved within the 3 year statute of limitations. You cannot file a lawsuit until 60 days after you have filed the formal notice of claim with a state or local government entity.

More information and online resources are available below